2010 OWFI Deadline Looms

If you plan to attend the 2010 Oklahoma Writers’ Federation, Inc. (OWFI) conference April 29- May 1, it’s time to register and get your contest entries in the mail.

The 42nd annual OWFI writers’ conference headquarters will be the Embassy Suites hotel in Oklahoma City.  Headlining the conference this year is mystery/science fiction writer Dana Stabenow.

The OWFI conference is famous for its contest opportunities. This year it offers 33 categories, 29 for unpublished writing, and four for books published in 2009. One entry fee of $20 permits OWFI members to enter as many of the categories as they wish.

Here are the categories for unpublished work:

1. Mainstream Novel

2. Contemporary Romance Novel

3. Historical Novel

4. Mystery/Suspense Novel

5. Western Novel

6. Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror Novel

7. Nonfiction Book

8. Picture Book (ages 1-8)

9. Middle Reader Book (ages 8-12)

10. Young Adult (11+)

11. Poetry, unrhymed, short

12. Poetry, unrhymed, long

13. Poetry, rhymed, short

14. Poetry, rhymed, long

15. Short-short story (adult)

16. Short story (adult)

17. Short story (juvenile)

18. Short story (young adult)

19. Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror

20. Prose humor

21. Essay

22. Play, film, or TV script

23. Technical and/or how-to article

24. Feature article

25. Western article

26. Inspirational article

27. Mazie Cox Reid column award

28. Confession story

29. Nostalgic prose

Writers published in 2009 can compete for the following:

Best Juvenile Book Award

Best Nonfiction Book Award

Best Book of Poetry

Best book of Fiction.

OWFI site

Contest details

Maeve Maddox writes about English usage and public education at AmericanEnglishDoctor.com/. Her most recent publication is The Fabergé Flute, a cozy mystery novel set in 1980s London.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *