Arkansas Literary Festival Offers Impressive Line-up of Authors

The 2012 Arkansas Literary Festival sponsored by the Central Arkansas Library System runs from Thursday, April 12 to Sunday, April 15 in Little Rock.

Festival authors include Roy Blount Jr., Diana Southwood Kennedy, George Dohrmann, Deborah Crombie, Trent Stewart, Mary Monroe, Justin Torres, Greil Marcus, and more. Festival authors include winners of such awards as the Pulitzer Prize, World Fantasy Award, James Beard Foundation Award for Cookbook of the Year, Critics Choice Award for Best Family Film, American Book Award, The Heartland Prize, Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism; Thomas Wolfe Award; National Association of Black Journalists Award, Guggenheim Fellowship, and a regional Emmy. One author was decorated with the Order of the Aztec Eagle, the highest honor given to foreigners by the Mexican Government; another was inducted into the French Legion of Honor, the highest honor bestowed on a French citizen. Many of the presenters’ works have been translated into multiple languages, optioned for television, and made into feature films.

Read all about the Festival here.

Maeve Maddox writes about popular culture, English usage, and education. Her most recent books are WORD RAGE, a guide to peaceful coexistence as American English-speakers, and THE FABERGE FLUTE, a cozy mystery set in 1980s London.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *