Time to Think About 2011 Susie Pryor Award

The Arkansas Women’s History Institute has announced its call for the 2011 Susie Pryor Award submissions.

The annual award offers a $1,000 prize for the best unpublished essay on topics in Arkansas women’s history.

Willie Hocker, teacher and designer of the Arkansas state flag
Willie Hocker, teacher, poet, and designer of the Arkansas state flag

Manuscripts are judged on their contribution to knowledge of women in the history of Arkansas, the use of primary and secondary materials, and analytical and stylistic excellence.

Submission deadline is February 15, 2011. The winner will be announced at the 2011 meeting of the Arkansas Historical Association in Jonesboro in April 2011.

For guidelines and submission forms, visit the Arkansas Women’s History Institute website, or contact Ashley Edwards, Chair, Susie Pryor Award Competition

The award is named in honor of Susie Hampton Newton Pryor: mother, community leader, local historian and writer from Camden, Arkansas.  The competition is sponsored by the Special Collections Department, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Maeve Maddox writes about popular culture, English usage, and education. Her most recent books are WORD RAGE, a guide to peaceful coexistence as American English-speakers, and THE FABERGE FLUTE, a cozy mystery set in 1980s London.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *