Winners of the 2018 Maureen Egen Award

Back in the Fall of 2017, ArkansasWriters reported that Arkansas was chosen as the 2018 participating state for the 2018 Maureen Egen Writers Exchange Award.

Now we can announce the winners: Joshua Idaszak for fiction and Anushah Jiwani for poetry.

Joshua Idaszak (left) and Anushah Jiwani (right) are the winners of the 2018 Writers Exchange Award. (Credits: Caroline Beimford, Hannah McGrew.)

Idaszak is a recent graduate of the MFA program in Creative Writing and Translation at the University of Arkansas.

Jiwani graduated summa cum laude from Hendrix College with a BA in English-Creative Writing and International Relations.

The judges also cited first runners-up Julia Paganelli Martin (in poetry) and Jane V. Blunschi (in fiction), and second runners-up Erin Griffin Collin (in poetry) and Emily Hoffman (in fiction).

In October of 2018, Idaszak and Jiwani will travel to New York City, all expenses paid, to meet with editors, agents, publishers, and others in the literary community. In addition, they will each received a $500 honorarium and present a public reading in New York City, hosted by Poets & Writers. The winners are also invited  to participate in a one-month residency at the Jentel Artist Residency Program in Wyoming.

The Egen Award is sponsored by Poets & Writers literary organization.

You can read excerpts from the winning submissions by following these links:




Local writers are welcome to submit promotional news releases about themselves, their critique groups, and any other writing-related activities of interest to writers in Arkansas and the neighboring states. Submission Guidelines:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *